A Bonfire Night Without The Fright

A Bonfire Night Without The Fright

It’s an age old problem. Bonfire night is the perfect family night out and fireworks are so pretty – every child loves to watch them, but the problem lies not with taking them out in the cold, or the later than normal bedtime, but the loud bangs and the fright that come with them.

Until this year we had never taken Ethan to a firework display. He’ll be four next month and I felt pretty bad about it. This year was going to be our year and I was going to be prepared.

3M Peltor Kids Ear Muffs are the perfect accessory for your family bonfire night outing. Not only do they look cool and trendy, not only are they a novelty to your little one but they stop the fright that comes with a firework display. Your little people can enjoy the amazement and wonder that comes with the night-time prettiness and there is unlikely to be a tear to be seen.

We wrapped ourselves up in our woollies, put on our comfiest and warmest boots, remembered the sparklers and headed off to our first bonfire night as a family. We had a fantastic time!

bonfire night

bonfire night

family bonfire night

sparklers

sparklers

glow stick

The 3M Peltor Kids Ear Muffs were an absolute God send. Ethan watched in awe at the fireworks and wasn’t frightened at all – and  they were additional warmth to his little ears!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Once it was all over we all got into our pyjamas, little man went to bed sleeping soundly, whilst his Daddy and myself ended bonfire night in the only way you can – hot chocolate and marshmallows.

whittard's hot chocolate spoon

I’m never a big fan of going out in the cold but I really enjoyed bonfire night this year and I’m already looking forward to next year.

What did you and your family do for bonfire night this year?

You can find out more about the kids ear muffs and where to buy them at the 3M Safety website.

*I was sent the ear muffs in return for an honest review. Thoughts and opinions are completely my own. I would like to say a huge thanks to 3M for sending me these little beauties (and the extras!) – they were a total winner in our household and know they will get another outing next year! 
Linked up to #MarvMondays amongst others. Scroll down for the linky badge. 

Follow:

36 Comments

    • Jaki
      7th November 2016 / 8:38 pm

      Ah thank you so much! They were a total hit! Thanks for the lovely words on my blog too πŸ™‚ x

  1. 8th November 2016 / 9:42 am

    So cute! Looks like you had a great time! #TwinklyTuesday

    • Jaki
      8th November 2016 / 3:40 pm

      We did thank you πŸ™‚

  2. stacey oakes
    8th November 2016 / 9:43 am

    I can’t wait to attend fireworks displays with my girl. She is only 1 so there was no chance of us attending this year. We are planing on a festival next year so i’ll definitely be needing the ear muffs!! #Twinklytuesday

    • Jaki
      8th November 2016 / 3:41 pm

      Wow! I’d love to do that with mine. He’s really getting into his music lately so one day – just got to convince his Dad!! πŸ™‚

  3. 8th November 2016 / 9:47 am

    Gorgeous photos and love the ear muffs idea. My boy seems to be a bit freaked out by the bangs so perfect for him. Will try next year! #twinklytuesday xx

    • Jaki
      8th November 2016 / 3:42 pm

      They honestly were a god send. So pleased I’ve now got them πŸ™‚ xx

  4. 8th November 2016 / 10:23 am

    These ear muffs look fab! I’m glad Ethan got to enjoy the fireworks. Our youngest isn’t quite 2 yet and she loved them. Our eldest is nearly 4 and she was a little unsure. She managed to watch them all but I think ear protectors would have really helped her.
    #DreamTeam

    • Jaki
      8th November 2016 / 3:43 pm

      I think the older ones are more aware aren’t they? Ethan’s four next month so that would figure! These were amazing – highly recommended! X

  5. 8th November 2016 / 10:48 am

    Love that you thought of ear protection, so many people don’t and once your hearing is gone, it’s just gone. #TwinklyTuesday

  6. Fiona Cambouropoulos
    8th November 2016 / 10:54 am

    Bonfire night has to be the exception to chilly nights outdoors #TwinklyTuesday

    • Jaki
      8th November 2016 / 3:43 pm

      Absolutely! A great excuse to come home to a hot water bottle and got chocolate too!

  7. 9th November 2016 / 7:17 am

    Love the photos – looks like you had a fun evening. Ear muffs are such a good idea for helping make firework displays less frightening for children – we avoided them this year because my eldest is so sensitive to loud bangs but we did get to see some from indoors which she was fine with. I’m sure ear muffs would help a lot for her. #twinklytuesday

    • Jaki
      9th November 2016 / 9:11 pm

      They really would! He could hear what we were saying to him but they took away that initial jumpy bang. So pleased to have some! Thanks so much for your lovely words x

  8. 9th November 2016 / 9:57 am

    Look like you all had an amazing time! The ear muffs look great for kids who don’t like big bangs. We’re quite lucky that Alfie isn’t bothered by them at all, especially as there is no way he would keep anything on his head! Loving that hot chocolate, looks delicious! #bestandworst

    • Jaki
      9th November 2016 / 9:14 pm

      It was incredible!! Nicest ever! And we did thank you it was a lovely, simple nice night. Great to get back in the warm after too. Thanks so much x

  9. 9th November 2016 / 10:19 am

    We spent fireworks night at home with friends and all the kids, I def think the adults enjoyed the fireworks more than the kids. My boy definitely did not like the bang, so I’ll be looking in to getting these for next year, thanks for the review and great photos x #MarvMondays

    • Jaki
      9th November 2016 / 9:15 pm

      I would highly recommend them! It’s such a shame something so pretty can be so frightening. These definitely take that away. I hope you had a great night too. X

  10. 9th November 2016 / 5:42 pm

    I love love love getting wrapped up and going to the fireworks on bonfire night and these are fab aren’t they? We’ve had a pair since A was younger and he’d never wear them but his older brother has numerous times. Thanks for linking up to #MarvMondays. Kaye xo

    • Jaki
      9th November 2016 / 9:18 pm

      They really are brilliant! And they look so cool aswell. A definite winner in our house. Thanks so much x

  11. 9th November 2016 / 10:48 pm

    Oooh glad you had fun – I did the hot choc thing after too πŸ™‚ #BloggerClubUK

    • Jaki
      11th November 2016 / 10:54 pm

      It has to be done! πŸ™‚ x

  12. 10th November 2016 / 5:50 pm

    These are great, we bought my son some, but we didn’t need to use them because he slept through the whole thing! #SharingTheBlogLove

    • Jaki
      11th November 2016 / 10:57 pm

      Ahhh bless him – that’s impressive! Hopefully you can use them next year πŸ™‚

  13. 10th November 2016 / 8:59 pm

    WISH we had remembered to take our exact same ear defenders to fireworks night – the kids might have stopped crying and enjoyed the show!
    We bought ours when we had our second baby…for us to wear in bed! We took turns every other night so we could get some Zzzzz…..worked a treat.
    Thanks for linking up to #coolmumclub

    • Jaki
      11th November 2016 / 10:58 pm

      Hahaha genius!!! It’s a shame something so pretty can be so scary. These were such a godsend! X

  14. 11th November 2016 / 3:31 pm

    What a great idea! I’m pleased to hear that you all enjoyed the night!
    Thanks for linking up to #AnythingGoes πŸ™‚
    Debbie

    • Jaki
      11th November 2016 / 11:02 pm

      Thanks they were great πŸ™‚

  15. 11th November 2016 / 10:29 pm

    OMG I love your mug you must tweet me where I can get a personalised blog one! Looks like you had an ace time and the ear defenders look fab. Thanks for linking up, hope you’ll stop by again #bestandworst

    • Jaki
      11th November 2016 / 11:04 pm

      Ahh. I need to direct you to a previous blog post – you may have been away that week I linked it up πŸ™‚ have a look for Fun Ways To Promote Your Blog – from a couple of weeks ago πŸ™‚ if you like the mug you’ll love the others πŸ™‚

  16. Katy - Hot Pink Wellingtons
    15th November 2016 / 7:54 pm

    My son is two and a half so we’ve not braved fireworks yet – I was thinking of trying next year with some ear defenders and it sounds like these were a real success! Thanks for joining us again at #SharingtheBlogLove

    • Jaki
      15th November 2016 / 8:52 pm

      They were brilliant – I definitely recommend them – and they love them! They do look very cool!

  17. 16th November 2016 / 1:05 pm

    These look great and I think I will invest in a pair for Alice next year. We have fireworks at my parents house and every year she is desperate to watch them outside but they are too loud. Holly on the other hand absolutely loves them! Thank you for joining us at #SharingtheBlogLove x

    • Jaki
      17th November 2016 / 12:46 am

      They’re definitely worth a buy! So pleased with mine. X

Leave a Reply